Skip To Content

Athabasca University

Honorary Doctorates


Honorary Doctor of Athabasca University

Dr. Michael Grahame Moore


On Thursday, June 8, 2017, an honorary Doctor of Athabasca University was conferred on Dr. Michael G. Moore in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the discipline and practice of distance education. One of the founding fathers of distance education, Dr. Moore developed central theories and models that informed many that followed. He founded and continues to edit the American Journal of Distance Education, the first and still the foremost journal in the field. Dr. Moore also established the world’s first annual distance education conference and led the development of the first graduate courses in the discipline. As an active promoter and a talented practitioner of distance education, he has influenced many in both academia and the broader community. He is strongly committed to open education and education for social change and has played a major role in developing distance education programs in Latin America, Scandinavia, Asia and Africa and helped establish programs in other parts of the world.


Past Recipients

Past Honorary Doctorate Recipients

Updated January 12 2018 by Events Office - University Relations

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.